Persephone

home / archive
SaoPaulo Street Photography

6 thoughts on “Persephone

  1. I like as a part of the picture is bright, and the second part of the total shadow.
    Also soft shadow on the wall to the left adds intriguing mood for this composition. Something from crime movie of Hitchcock.
    Interesting is also the repeated texture skyscraper on the left.
    Good, classic shot from bottom to top.

    PS: Tokio Marine, this intrigued me all the time ;-))

  2. Frank, I don’t have idea to ‘ why Tokio Marine” as a name of the building
    but I’ll try to make a conjecture:
    this neighborhood is full of Japanese great companies.
    and companies may not be as committed to ‘Brazilianize up’ or it is just a tribute to Tokio (probabily).
    the immigrants yes, they are integrated. all speak Portuguese, marry native Brazilian people, the children’s names
    are in Brazilian/Portuguese ( also ‘North America’ name – hahahahah!… some absurdly adapted to Brazilian)…

    obs: I change my title. now is “Persephone”
    from the ‘dark’ winter to the bright Spring :-)

  3. Frank, I don’t have idea to ‘ why Tokio Marine” as a name of the building
    but I’ll try to make a conjecture:
    this neighborhood is full of Japanese great companies.
    and companies may not be as committed to ‘Brazilianize up’ or it is just a tribute to Tokio (probably).
    the immigrants yes, they are integrated. all speak Portuguese, marry native Brazilian people, the children’s names
    are in Brazilian/Portuguese ( also ‘North America’ names – hahahahah!… some absurdly adapted to Brazilian/Potuguese)…

    obs: I change my title. now is “Persephone”
    from the ‘dark’ Winter to the bright Spring :-)

  4. Thanks for your reply. It satisfies my curiosity and I learned something new about the Japanese community in Sao Paulo.

Leave a Reply

